How to set up e-commerce KPI Reporting part 1

This article is beginner-friendly and covers setting up KPIs and tracking them in e-commerce.

KPIs or Key Performance Indicators are easily measurable and provide visibility on e-commerce growth. I outline the importance of data-driven decisions and result tracking in almost every post, including 3 bonus e-commerce strategy tips, so an article on setting up e-commerce KPI reporting only seemed natural.

In this article, we will discuss the following steps:

  1. Define your KPIs

    1. Calculate your conversion rate

  2. Create reports with Google Looker Studio

  3. Dig Deeper with Advanced KPIs

  4. Reporting frequency

  1. Define your KPIs 

In this part, we will cover the basics of getting started with KPI tracking. The fundamental indicators every e-commerce manager or analyst should track are:

  1. Unique users 

  2. Bounce rate*

  3. Number of conversions (orders)

  4. Total conversion (order) value

  5. Average order value

  6. Conversion rate (per user)

  7. Average session duration

*You can track bounce rate or engagement rate, depending on preference

Calculate your conversion rate

Conversion rate determines how many of your users convert to customers. To calculate your conversion rate, divide the number of purchases by the total number of visitors to your website, then multiply that number by 100.

If I have 1,000 unique visitors on my website and 45 purchases, the conversion rate will be: (45/1000)*100 = 4,5

IRP or Statista can help you benchmark industry and regional averages. There are a lot of varying conversion rates depending on markets, devices, and countries, but getting started with an industry-average conversion rate is best. 

2. Create reports with Google Looker Studio

Now that you have defined the KPIs you want to track, it’s time to set up a reporting template.

Sometimes, the first step may be to create an Excel spreadsheet and manually enter all data from various platforms. While it can be a practical exercise, it increases your margin of error and is increasingly time-consuming as your business grows.

Tools such as Google’s Looker Studio (previously Data Studio) allow you to integrate all your data from various platforms in one place and transform it into a customizable dashboard, perfect for on-the-go reporting.

This means you can combine data from GA4, CMS, Google & Meta Ads, etc, and combine them in one seamless reporting format.

Google Looker Studio Report Template example. In the top right corner, you can edit the tracked period (03-09 February) and the data will update itself automatically.

You do need to take some time to set up your data sources and reporting templates. You can also start with a template made by Google with different YouTube tutorials. I will have a Looker Studio tutorial coming soon!

On Microsoft’s side, Power BI is a renowned option, which requires a bit more setup and elbow grease and can be quite overwhelming at first. So if you are just getting started, Looker Studio is a perfect option. If Excel reporting is your preferred option, you can export data from Looker Studio in an Excel format to keep as a backup.

3. Dig Deeper with Advanced KPIs

Be careful not to get lost in the metrics. The abundance of metrics to track may overwhelm and distract you from leveraging your data-driven strategy. Start simple, with clear metrics that actually matter like the ones presented in point 1. 

As you progress, you can also start to track more advanced traffic KPIs such as:

  • Number of sessions

  • Sessions per user

  • Number of new users

  • New user to returning user ratio

  • Session conversion rate

  • Devices

  • Demographics: geography, age, gender

  • etc

When it comes to conversions, you may want to track the following metrics as you progress:

  • Number of new customers

  • New vs returning customer rate

  • Top countries

  • Top cities

  • Most viewed items

  • Most added-to-cart items

  • Best-sellers by order value (% of total orders)

  • Best-sellers by order quantity (% of total orders)

4. Reporting frequency

My advice when it comes to how often should you report is the following. Look at your platforms’ data daily to get an idea of your average users and orders, while taking mental notes. Provide a simple report weekly with the metrics presented in point 1. You might also add an overview of PPC, paid social, and other campaign performance - more on that in a separate post. Have a monthly report template for more detailed information and how the metrics progress. 

Tip: I like to have a monthly reporting Excel spreadsheet with:

  •  A column for each month

  • A line for each metric categorized by traffic, conversion, PPC, etc

This way I can see and compare results quickly across the months from a bird’s-eye view.

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